Translator from GOOGLE


INDEX 

Popular Posts/Articles:
Foiling: hydrofoiling.html
GoPro Hero: GoPro-hero.html
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html 
BIC Dufour Wing & Starting Windsurfing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html 
Tabou Rocket 125: tabou-rocket.html 
History of Windsurfing: http://history-of-windsurfing.html
Heavyweights: heavyweights-and-windsurfing.html
Physics of Windsurfing: jim-drakes-windsurf-physics.html  
Fanatic Shark: fanatic-shark.html
Formula and Long Boards: formula-boards-and-longboards.html
Light Wind Section: light wind section.html
Early Planing: early-planing.html

Getting Started: 
How I started Winter Sailboarding: how-i-started-winter-windsurfing.html
How I Started Shortboarding how-i-started-shortboarding.html
How YOU can start windsurfing: how-you-can-start-windsurfing.html
 
Parts of a Sail/Windsurf board discussed:
Sailboards sailboards.htm                          windsurf-board-categories.html
Fins: fins.html  and how to repair them ...
Sails: sails.html                                         
Sail Materials: sail-materials.html                                 
Masts: masts.html
Mast Bases: mast-bases.html
BOOM: boom.html                                
Accessories: accessories.html

My Boards and Reviews:
AHD FF 160 liter: how-i-started-shortboarding.html  
AHD SL2 132 liter: http://ahd-sl2-132.html
BIC Dufour Wing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html
Fanatic BEE 124 LTD: fanatic-bee-124-ltd.html
Fanatic Ultra CAT: fanatic-ultra-cat.html
JP SuperLightWind/SLW92: JP SuperLightWind
Mistral Equipe I LCS-XR: mistral-equipe-i-lcs-xr.html
Mistral Competition SST: Mistral COMP SST
Mistral Equipe II / 2: mistral equipe 2 aka MEQ2

HotSailsMaui SpeedFreak 8.5: HSM SPF 8.5.html
MS-2 vs Pursuit: maui-sails-pursuit-vs-ms-2.html 

Health & Safety:
Safety First: safety-first.html
BEE stuff: bees.html

Other:
Windsurfing in Montrealwindsurfing-in-montreal.html
Original Journal Entries: original-journal-entries.html 
New journal entries: new-journal-entries.html
Newer journal entries: 2014/2015 journal entries.html
2016 journal entries: 2016-windsurf-journal.html
2017 journal entries: 2017-windsurf-journal.html
2018 journal entries: 2018-journal-entries.html
2019 journal entries: 2019-journal-entries.html

Bloggingblogging.html



Flooding in Spring 2019

Once again we are having issues in the spring with water levels near Montreal ...
The picture in the header of this windsurf blog is a picture I took yesterday of the river near me..

I will find and put the link of the post I wrote during the last spring flooding - 2017 ??
it was not a post, but rather discussions in my 2017 windsurf journals ...month of April
http://joewindsurfer.blogspot.com/p/2017-windsurf-journal.html
here are the current water levels !!!
                                  Clique the pic

Just look at the road closures near Montreal !!
there are bridge and hi-way closures !!


















                                     Clique the pics

                             below is Gatineau - hit again too

























Last Friday I discovered that my colleague was indeed away from work MANY days, but it was because he was flooded when the dike broke near St-Marthe-sur-le-Lac. The water in his basement is one foot below the ceiling. This is where his sons lived :-(

So, while some people are washing the winter debris off their cars, others ...

I had heard that NO boats were allowed on the waterways and one could be fined $5000. Well, here is the proof:



Time has passed and water levels are NOT getting better #$%^&*


This was on quebecwind and looks like Pte-Claire -- water is higher than it was in 2017!!


This is what Pointe-Claire Cartier boat launch looked like in 2017:


Yet the graph says the water level is lower @ Pointe-Claire than it was in 2017 ??

On Monday, May 20th 2019 I had my first windsurf session on water of the year. At this point I am unsure of whether this is later than usual - let me check later.

Since local waters were high, access on water ist verboten AND some people beside the water are trying to figure out what the next step in their real estate is ... So, I went on the lake up north with the BIC SL200 and GA Flow3 3X 7.0 m² sail.

Apparently on the same day there were dudes out windsurfing at that very "beach",  Pointe-Claire. Buddy told me there was "no shoreline"


Update: In the last ten (10) years of logging my sessions in one form or another, I have ALWAYS started windsurfing in the month of April. Over the years there were even months of May where the number of windsurf sessions in that month was ten (that happened 3 times in last 9 years).... and here we are on May 21st, 2019 and I have had ONLY one windsurf session in 2019 so far :-( That session was barely okay on a small lake ...

Georges usually goes straight from down-hill skiing to windsurfing. Well, actually kiting now - he windsurfs up north at the chalet and kites at OKA (and around the world). This year - nothing on the water yet... "Worst year ever". Sounds like that sums it up for everyone !!

When the restriction of water access was removed from Lac de Deux Montagnes and Rivière Milles Isles, they put a speed limit of 5.5 knots - with a possibility of the same penalties !!

Guy Trudeau jr in Windsurfing Now !!

Oui, notre ami gtj aka Guy Trudeau junior est dans une "spread" - Windsurfing Now 05.1 à la page 84/85

bravo gtj !!

Clique sur la photo

"Guy Trudeau gets some air over the snow in
Saint-Isidore, Quebec.
Grégoire Lafortune photo"

NICE !!

et pourquoi pas mettre le video de Georges !!