Translator from GOOGLE

Windsurfing during a Pandemic

Obviously if you are in a warmer section of the world than I, when we here are currently on April 1st, 2020 with a foot of snow (that is NO April Fool's joke) and socially distancing ourselves from our fellow man and woman by two(2) meters ... then perhaps you have access to a warm body of water where you can go alone or maintain a "social distance" (ironic terminology) from others ... One site is suggesting staying away from old people ...lol

Hats off to SailWorks who are making an effort in supplying face covers - can they make them such that we don't even need sunglasses any more ... or  .... perhaps keep them so dark that we can become a faceless society ? Pink Floyd like ..


Stay Home !!




INDEX 

Popular Posts/Articles:
Foiling: hydrofoiling.html
GoPro Hero: GoPro-hero.html
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html 
BIC Dufour Wing & Starting Windsurfing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html 
Tabou Rocket 125: tabou-rocket.html 
History of Windsurfing: http://history-of-windsurfing.html
Heavyweights: heavyweights-and-windsurfing.html
Physics of Windsurfing: jim-drakes-windsurf-physics.html  
Fanatic Shark: fanatic-shark.html
Formula and Long Boards: formula-boards-and-longboards.html
Light Wind Section: light wind section.html
Early Planing: early-planing.html

Getting Started: 
How YOU can start windsurfing: how-you-can-start-windsurfing.html
How I started Windsurfing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html 
How I started Winter Sailboarding: how-i-started-winter-windsurfing.html
How I started Shortboarding how-i-started-shortboarding.html

 
Parts of a Sail/Windsurf board discussed:
Sailboards sailboards.htm                          windsurf-board-categories.html
Fins: fins.html  and how to repair them ...
Sails: sails.html                                         
Sail Materials: sail-materials.html                                 
Masts: masts.html
Mast Bases: mast-bases.html
BOOM: boom.html                                
Accessories: accessories.html

My Boards and Reviews:
AHD FF 160 liter: how-i-started-shortboarding.html  
AHD SL2 132 liter: http://ahd-sl2-132.html
BIC Dufour Wing: my-bic-dufour-wing-and-how-i-started.html
BIC Techno Formula: bic-techno-formula.html
Fanatic BEE 124 LTD: fanatic-bee-124-ltd.html
Fanatic Shark 145 HRS: fanaticshark.html
Fanatic Ultra CAT: fanatic-ultra-cat.html
JP SuperLightWind/SLW92: JP SuperLightWind
Mistral Equipe I LCS-XR: mistral-equipe-i-lcs-xr.html
Mistral Competition SST: Mistral COMP SST
Mistral Equipe II / 2: mistral equipe 2 aka MEQ2

HotSailsMaui SpeedFreak 8.5: HSM SPF 8.5.html
MS-2 vs Pursuit: maui-sails-pursuit-vs-ms-2.html 

Health & Safety:
Safety First: safety-first.html
BEE stuff: bees.html
How to lose weight: weight loss.html

Other:
Windsurfing in Montrealwindsurfing-in-montreal.html
Original Journal Entries: original-journal-entries.html 
New journal entries: new-journal-entries.html
Newer journal entries: 2014/2015 journal entries.html
2016 journal entries: 2016-windsurf-journal.html
2017 journal entries: 2017-windsurf-journal.html
2018 journal entries: 2018-journal-entries.html
2019 journal entries: 2019-journal-entries.html

Bloggingblogging.html



SailWorks Hucker 6.6

Well, I saw it advertised at a price under $100 and so; I just had to try it ... :-)

Michel came from Lac St-Jean on his way to Australia and dropped it off ...
Hmm, that was like two (2) weeks before the COVID-19 pandemic announcement ...

I did not have any pics yet and so posted one with the SailWorks stamp of approval  ...


Mine is NOT quite so colourful and must be an older version since it does not have the arrow. It is the more of a star shaped design

Seems mine is a 2007 based on dimensions - except mast sleeve looks open - specs say closed

475 cm median on the downhaul and I was using a PX RDM 460/90% mast
and 204 cm outhaul on the Chinook aluminum boom

I tried downhauling it with the winch, but forgot how much force Sailworks sails need

Once I thought I was done, I pulled and poked n looked and put at least another 5 cm downhaul. I was looking at the sail and thinking either the mast is wrong or this sail loves downhaul. Well I read that many have used PowerEx masts with the Huckers successfully... So I just gotta put MORE downhaul - more than I ever do !!

GREAT Hucker Review here: 


and where I got the pic too :-)

My wife asked what are my plans for this sail. There are many. I hope to use it on the MEQ2 longboard (especially with newbies or bigger winds) , in higher winds on smaller gear and maybe even in the winter - like in the next post :-)

and of course I hafta put that infamous video from the Sailworks crew !!


Winter Session March 2020

In case you did not know, I had two(2) inguinal hernias repaired in November 2019.
This means I did NOT get out on the ice and snow this winter.
It was a strange winter at that.
We only had -20ยบ C in February a few times and the Great Lakes barely froze.
On Friday / yesterday my surgeon gave me the "green light" to do "anything"
So last night was a little colder and there was some light wind today.
NOT a great winter windsurf day, but I did get out !!
Was out about two(2) hours
Young dude was smokin Jean Guy from duBon in the Park - naughty boy !!
SO, the video is NOT great and upside down - just put ALT CTRL down arrow to flip your screen while watching :-)



Oh yeah - flip the screen on an Apple or mobile device ??
NO guarantees on that one from Windows court

If it is mobile or movable, it can be done for sure ... BUDdy Pat confirms this ...


Yes, this is NOT a high speed video, but...
I forgot to mention that I was doing many things for the first time on this flight

i.e. NOT just the one and only outing this winter season,but

it was the first time I tried a downhaul winch - since I was to reduce hernial stress

was also the first time when I was actually adjusting my harness lines on the fly

playing outside in the winter using stuff from my summer sport is just so much fun !!

At the beginning of this discussion I considered writing "my one and only outing this winter .."

Now I wish I had said that because now we have freezing rain and temps over freezing. We saw ten degrees this week !!

and this is Vaudreuils 18MAR2020


And non, I NEVER did get to go out on the ice again in the 2019-2020 winter season ...

Firstly, the COVID-19 pandemic starting gaining momentum and secondly, the temperatures were bouncing over and under the freezing point of water.

Like a sound WAV ...

Naturally both my brother and my wife were freaking out - even just thinking bout it ...

Sunday March 22nd, 2020 ----------------------this is the e-mail I sent ta bro
Subject: The things we do for our wives :-)

"All the stars lined up - I took pics of the bay one week before
it was solid ice then, but a little rough
rained a bit throughout the week with one warm day
two days and nights in a row that were COLD enough to freeze ice
the wind changed and is now on-shore in Vaudreuils
and quite a nice light wind 13-20 kph East (straight on-shore)
butt is sitting here typing this e-mail
good thing I had some Sunset
and Lisa smelled it on me :-)
was doin her a flavour lol"